Proposition 19 – 2021 Updates to California Property Tax and Parent-Child Exclusion
- December 09, 2020
Starting February 16, 2021, the California property tax parent-child exclusion will become heavily restricted. Currently, parents may transfer their primary residence to a child without facing property tax reassessment and shelter up to $1,000,000 in appreciation of real property that is not a primary residence. Under Proposition 19, a child can only avoid a property tax reassessment if the child uses the transferred property as their primary residence. Additionally, under the new law, the parent-child exclusion is capped at $1,000,000 – meaning, even if a parent transfers property to their child and the child uses the property as their primary residence, any appreciation in excess of $1,000,000 will trigger a property reassessment for that excess value. To learn more about Proposition 19 and its effects on estate planning, click here to read an article about this new law by Shephard Mullin.
This post is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Never rely solely on a blog post in evaluating your situation — always contact your attorney when your legal rights and obligations are on the line.