BLOG, NEWS & EVENTS

2021 Minimum Wage Laws and Exempt Employee Salaries

  • December 17, 2020
  • Blog
Potente, Business Lawyer and Company Formation

Beginning January 1, 2021, the following increased minimum wages and exempt employee salaries will go into effect:

Statewide Minimum Wage
On January 1, California’s minimum wage will increase to $14 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and $13 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.

Exempt Employee Minimum Salaries and Wages
The minimum salary threshold for exempt employees will increase to $1,120 per week ($58,240 per year) for employers with 26 or more employees, and $1,040 per week ($54,080 per year) for employees with 25 or fewer employees.

The minimum rate for exempt computer software employees will increase to $47.48 per hour.

The minimum rate for exempt licensed physicians and surgeons paid on an hourly basis will increase to $86.49 per hour.

Local Minimum Wages
The minimum wage will also increase in the following cities:

Belmont: $15.90
Burlingame: $15.00
Cupertino: $15.65
Daly City: $15.00
El Cerrito: $15.61
Half Moon Bay: $15
Hayward (26 or more employees): $15 .00
Hayward (25 or fewer employees): $14.00
Los Altos: $15.65
Menlo Park: $15.25
Mountain View: $16.30
Novato (100 or more employees): $15.24
Novato (26–99 employees): $15.00
Novato (1–25 employees): $14.00
Oakland: $14.36
Palo Alto: $15.65
Petaluma: $15.20
Redwood City: $15.62
Richmond: $15.21
San Carlos: $15.24
San Diego: $14.00
San José: $15.45
San Mateo: $15.62
Santa Clara: $15.65
Santa Rosa: $15.20
Sonoma (26 or more employees): $15.00
Sonoma (25 or fewer employees): $14.00
South San Francisco: $15.24
Sunnyvale: $16.30

California – Best Methods to Relocate your Corporation

In California, the taxes and regulations can be difficult to keep up with and there are many reasons why business owners would want to move their corporations out of state. There are a few different ways to move your corporation out of California, each with its own pros and cons....

  • April 24, 2024
  • Blog

California’s Workplace Prevention Plan Law BLOG POST

Beginning July 1, 2024, SB 553 will take effect requiring California employers to establish, implement, and maintain a workplace violence prevention plan. Under SB 533, workplace violence is broadly defined as any act of violence or threat of violence in the place of employment. Implementing a workplace violence prevention plan...